release date:

September 18, 2015


My Heart Bows Down to You

  • You Are Light/ Gayatri
  • I Open My Arms to Love/ Jai Radhe
  • My Heart Bows Down to You/ Maha Mantra
  • Guru Brahma/ Más Allá
  • All One Song
  • Way Down Low/ Om Namo Bhagavate
  • One With the Light/ Om Shanti
  • O Amado/ Radhe Shyam
  • Grace Surrounding/ Maha Mrityunjaya
  • In The Arms of the One/ Asato Ma
  • Hanuman Chalisa (Heart Version)

"My Heart Bows Down to You" will be released September 18, 2015. Available for pre-order by clicking the links to the left

On this fourth studio recording, Brenda McMorrow draws upon her extensive travels as a sought-after touring artist to weave fresh new flavors into her distinctive sound; time spent in Spain, Peru and Mexico inspired the introduction of Spanish lyrics in two songs, while yearly visits to India have helped nurture the place of clarity and transformative growth in which her songs take root. The album includes liner notes that elucidate the meaning and essence of each mantra, offering the original, ancient Sanskrit chants along with the English and Spanish song lyrics.

McMorrow is beloved for her unique and warmly embracing style of mantra music. Drawing upon her background in folk and alternative music, she blends elements of acoustic folk and world rhythms with a sweetly introspective singer-songwriter’s sensibility.

Her tuneful, uplifting interpretations of traditional Sanskrit mantras are lovingly crafted with her own original lyrics as well as excerpts of poems by the Sufi mystic Rumi. Ram Dass said “Brenda McMorrow has a gift” -- and her gift of deeply spiritual but very accessible music has touched the hearts of listeners worldwide.

Produced by Warren Huart (James Blunt, Trevor Hall), this new recording was largely crowd-funded by Brenda’s fans, and features the support of a talented cast of musicians and background singers on eleven sparkling original songs.

The Players: Brenda McMorrow: vocals and acoustic guitar on all tracks, singing bowl, track 6; Warren Huart: acoustic guitar, tracks 2, 3, 5, 8 9, electric guitar, tracks 2, 3, 5, 9, mandolin, tracks 2,9, keys, track 2, piano, track 9; Brian Lang: upright bass on all tracks; Dave Allen: drum kit, tracks 2, 3, 5, 9, djembe, track 4, percussion, tracks 1-5, 7, 9-11; Rafa Martínez: background vocals, tracks 4, 6; Tara Walsh: harmonium, track 3, background vocals, tracks 3, 4, 6; Bhakti Choir (Bob Wisdom, Sarah Garney, Masood Ali Khan, Joy Santos, Joni Yung, Neil Martin, David Watts, Francis Bischetti, Mallori Simko): background vocals, tracks 2, 3, 11

Produced by Warren Huart Engineered by Sam Martin Mixed by Warren Huart and Sam Martin Assisted by Connor Stobaugh, Eric Gonzales, Duilian Arana and Sharon Greenman Recorded and Mixed in July, 2015 at Spitfire Studio, Laurel Canyon except Bhakti Choir recorded at Bhakti Yoga Shala, Santa Monica, Los Angeles, CA Mastered by Adam Ayan at Gateway Mastering, Portland, Maine Additional background vocal recording by María Gil Muñoz, in Madrid and Joan Miró Prat in Barcelona, Spain